Northamericanimmigration Blog


Overview Of The USA Visa Waiver Program 2017

The Visa Waiver Program is different than the Immigrant Visa Process. Also called VWP, it is part of what the United States government has created to allow citizens, specifically those that are traveling into the United States for the purpose of tourism, or even business, to be in America for up to 90 days without having to go through the procedure of getting a visa.  The VWP program is something that applies to all 50 states, including Australia, as well as territories such as Puerto Rico and also the Virgin Islands in the Caribbean. Let’s look into more depth at this policy, and how it will be applicable in 2017. In contrast to it, immigration to US is a much longer process and with a totally different scope. USA Visa Waiver Program (VWP) 2017 – How It Works The USA VWP 2017 works like this: let’s say that you are coming in from a different country and you want to visit friends or relatives that are living in any location across the United States. It is also possible that you may have Australian citizens that  would like to visit Bermuda, Mexico or Canada. This VWP allows you as an Australian to go to these areas, stay for up to 90 days, without having to apply for a visa. If you did not know, a visa is essentially permission given by a government to which you are visiting their country, allowing you to have permission to stay. These are always needed if you are going to stay longer than 90 days, but due to the Visa Waiver Program, you can bypass this by staying under that maximum number. There are some changes updated in Jan 2016 as noted by official US Department of State website. Different Countries That May Actually Join The Program Expanding beyond this point, there are countries that have been nominated until now for the status of being part of this VWP. They have created what some referred to as a roadmap, those that have been nominated but have not yet joined. Some of these countries include Israel, Turkey, Romania, Argentina, and Cyprus to name a few. Argentina was a member up until 2002, and Uruguay was...

Read More